Yale Religious Ministries

Yale Religious Ministries is dedicated to the spiritual, ethical, intellectual, social, and physical welfare of students, faculty, and staff.  It is committed to strengthening the University in its task of educating students and expanding the boundaries of human knowledge.  It is committed to fostering respect and mutual understanding among people of different faiths and cultures as well as actively promoting dialogue within the University towards that end.

All members of Yale Religious Ministries abide by an Agreement.  Each member has signed the Agreement and presented it to the staff of their individual organization.  The Agreement is available for download at the bottom of the page under Attachments.

View a map of sacred spaces on and around campus.

Yale Religious Ministries Members

 

The University Chaplain’s Office
Sharon Kugler
Ian Oliver
Omer Bajwa
Candice Provey
Maytal Saltiel
Asha Shipman 


The University Church


Battell Chapel 400 College Street
Worship, Sunday, 10:30 am
Evening Prayer, Wednesday, 9 pm,
Dwight Chapel
Rev. Ian Oliver, 203-432-1131
ian.oliver@yale.edu
church.yale.edu

Assemblies of God

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship
Rob and Sarah Malcolm
robmalcolm73@gmail.com
sarah.malcolm77@gmail.com 
www.xayale.com

 

Baptist


Trinity Baptist Church 
630 State Street
203-789-4500 
Greg Hendrickson 
gregory.hendrickson@aya.yale.edu
Sunday, 10 am and 6:30 pm
trinity-baptist.org

Buddhist

Buddhist Shrine, Harkness Chapel, First floor of Harkness Tower, Branford College
Open Sunday to Thursday, 4-10pm, for individual practice except as noted

chaplain.yale.edu/buddhistlife

New Haven Zen Center
Paul Bloom
paul.bloom.arc.70@aya.yale.edu
Auguste Fortin
auguste.fortin@yale.edu 
newhavenzen.org

Christian Science

Christian Science Reading Room 
950 Chapel Street 
Inge Schmidt 
inge.schmidt@yale.edu

The Church of Jesus Christ 
of Latter-day Saints

84 Trumbull Street
203-865-7948
Sunday Services 1 pm
Randy LaRose, Director
LaRoseRA@ldschurch.org 

Episcopal

Episcopal Church at Yale
Worship, Sunday, 5 pm, Dwight Chapel
episcopalchurchatyale.edu

Hindu

Hindu Advisor
Asha Shipman
asha.shipman@yale.edu
203-432-1128


Jewish

Joseph Slifka Center for
Jewish Life at Yale 
80 Wall Street, 203-432-1134 
slifkacenter.org
Services:
Reform - Friday, 5:45 pm;
Conservative - Fridays, 5:45 pm, 
alternate Saturday mornings;
Orthodox - daily, call for time
Rabbi Leah Cohen, Executive Director and Senior Jewish Chaplain
leah.cohen@yale.edu
203-432-8523


Chabad at Yale University
36 Lynwood Place
203-498-9770
Rabbi Shua & Sara Rosenstein
Rabbi@chabadyale.org 
Kabbalat Shabbat service 6:45 pm 
Shabbat dinner 7:30 pm 
Shabbat morning service 11:15 am
chabadyale.org 

Lutheran


University Lutheran Ministry 
Luther House
27 High Street, 203-776-0696
Rev. Kari Keyl
karihenkelmann.keyl@yale.edu
House Church Worship,  Sunday, 5 pm;
Lutepisc (Lutheran-Episcopal) Bible Study, Monday, 6:30 pm;
Taizé Contemplative Prayer, Tuesday, 9:30 pm, Dwight Chapel; 
yale.edu/lutherhouse



Methodist

First & Summerfield United Methodist 
425 College Street, 203-624-2521 
fsumc.org

Muslim

Muslim Students Association 
MSA Prayer Room, Bingham Hall
Entry D, Lower Level
Omer Bajwa, Coordinator of Muslim Life
omer.bajwa@yale.edu
Friday Prayers 12:45 pm, Dwight Chapel
yalemsa.org

Non-denominational Christian

Athletes in Action 
Mendenhall room in Berkeley
North’s basement
Craig Luekens, craig.luekens@gmail.com
203-500-7115
Tuesday, 9 pm
athletesinaction.org
aiayale.tumblr.com

Black Church at Yale (BCAY)
211 Park Street
Julian Reid, Pastor
julian.reid@yale.edu
Worship, Sunday, 10:30 am
bcay.org

International Church at Yale
Worship: Sunday, 11am, Dwight Chapel
Pastor: Rev. Joseph and Michele Cumming
joseph.cumming@aya.yale.edu or michele.cumming@alumni.duke.edu
www.yale.edu/icy
www.facebook.com/groups/515153235189911
Hugh Hedges
hughhedges@yahoo.com
203-466-6633

Yale International Christian Fellowship
Alpha course, Friday, 7 pm, Medical School campus
Dr. Andrew Cunningham
cunningham.andrew@sbcglobal.net 
203-823-6167

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship
Yale Christian Fellowship 
Fridays, 7:15 pm, 221 Park Street
Josh Williams, joshua.williams@yale.edu
317-522-717
yale.edu/ycf

Rivendell Institute 
16 Lynwood Place, 203-785-0164 
Rev. Dr. David C. Mahan
david.mahan@yale.edu 
Rev. Don Smedley
c.donald.smedley@yale.edu
Jon Hinkson
jon.hinkson@yale.edu
Dr. Greg Ganssle
gregory.ganssle@yale.edu 
rivendellinstitute.org

Yale Graduate and Professional School Christian Fellowships
William Cutler  
william.cutler@yale.edu,  207-576-1720
Contact for meeting times

Yale Students for Christ
Thursday, 7 pm, Battell Chapel (unless otherwise noted on website) 
Sang Yun sang.yun@uscm.org
Charmain Yun
charmain@aya.yale.edu
yalestudentsforchrist.org


Orthodox Christian


Orthodox Christian Fellowship at Yale 
Thursdays, 4:30 pm
Lovett Room, Battell Chapel
Fr. Michael Westerberg, 203-387-3882
frwesterberg@sbcglobal.net
yale.edu/ocf


Presbyterian

Christ Presbyterian Church
135 Whitney Avenue, 203-777-6960
Rev. Craig Luekens
craig.luekens@gmail.com
Rev. Kevin Nelson
kevin.nelson@cpcnewhaven.org
"Going Deep" Theology Study, 2nd and 4th Weds, 9:15, WLH006
Sunday Worship at 10am and 1:35pm
cpcnewhaven.org

Presbyterian Undergraduates at Yale/
First Presbyterian Church 
704 Whitney Avenue, 203-562-5664
Worship, Sunday, 10:45 am, Shuttle from Phelps Gate at 10:25 am
Undergrad Bible Study, Sunday, 5-6pm, WLH, room TBA 
fpcnh.org

Quaker

New Haven Friends Meeting
225 East Grand Avenue
Sunday, 10:30 am
www.newhavenfriends.org


Roman Catholic

Saint Thomas More
Catholic Chapel and Center
268 Park Street ,203-777-5537
Rev. Bob Beloin
robert.beloin@yale.edu
Katie Byrnes
kathleen.byrnes@yale.edu
Fr. Eddie De León
eddie.deleon@yale.edu
Sr. Jennifer Schaff
jenn.schaaf@yale.edu
Mass: Sunday, 10am, 5pm, and 10pm; Tuesday-Friday 5:00pm
Evening Prayer Monday, 5 pm
stm.yale.edu


St. Mary’s Roman Catholic Church
5 Hillhouse Ave
203-562-6193
Very Reverend Joseph P. Allen, O.P.
church@stmarys-priory.com
Sunday Masses
Vigil: 5:00 pm, Saturday & Sunday 8:00 & 10:00 am,
12:00 noon & 5:00 pm
Daily Masses: 7:30 am, 12:00 noon & 5:00 pm
Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament: Thursdays 12:30-4:30 pm
Confessions: Monday - Friday 11:15-Noon; Saturdays 11:15 am-Noon and 4:15-4:45 pm

 

Sikh

yale.edu/sikh (coming soon)

AttachmentSize
YRMagreement.doc69 KB